Web Content Viewer
Public Health Emergency Preparedness
Public Health Emergency Preparedness

Public Health Emergency Preparedness


What happens when the unexpected happens? Each and every day, the risk of emergency exists for the residents of Ohio. In order to make Ohio a safer place and more prepared to respond in the face of a crisis, The Ohio Department of Health created the Bureau of Health Preparedness (BHP) in 2005. BHP is the driving force behind emergency planning, responding to emergencies on the state level, as well as preparing and conducting training exercises for the entire state. BHP also oversees the sub-grantee activities for the local health department, ensuring that the local health department in your county is able to respond to emergencies 24 hours a day.

Emergency Preparedness

Preparedness is a responsibility for every Ohio resident. We cannot control the world around us but we can plan to be ready for when disaster strikes. Help ensure both you and your family are prepared for hazards such as natural disasters, power outages, or intentional acts by starting with the following:

Help others! When you know you are prepared as an individual or as a family, give back to your community by donating items or funds to a local charity or food bank. Additionally, one of the best ways to give back to your community is to donate your time:

  • Ohio Responds: a personalized volunteer opportunity site shared by the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) and the Ohio Department of Health (ODH)

  • Medical Reserve Corps: The Medical Reserve Corps (MRC) is a national network of volunteers, organized locally to improve the health and safety of their communities. MRC volunteers include medical and public health professionals, as well as other community members without healthcare backgrounds

  • Red Cross: An international organization dedicated to providing assistance in a variety of ways

The following counties do not have an MRC Unit, please see below.


Erie County


Guernsey County


Harrison County


Huron County


Jefferson County


Knox County


Monroe County


Muskingum County


Noble County


Wayne County


Washington County


Williams County