Web Content Viewer
Actions
Ohio Overdose Prevention Network
The Ohio Overdose Prevention Network (Ohio OPN) Logo

About Us

Mission: Coordinate multi-sector, statewide efforts to prevent drug overdose deaths utilizing data-informed strategies to implement policy, education, and harm reduction interventions.

Vision: An Ohio free from drug misuse, abuse, overdose, and death.

The Ohio Overdose Prevention Network (Ohio OPN), formerly the Prescription Drug Abuse Action Group (PDAAG), is a subgroup of the Ohio Injury Prevention Partnership (OIPP). It was created to focus specifically on the epidemic of drug overdose deaths. 

The purpose of the Ohio OPN is to identify and implement actions for the prevention of drug misuse, abuse and overdose and to serve as a means of communication and collaboration on this topic among interested organizations, agencies and individuals throughout the state. The Ohio OPN strategic plan can be found here.

Specifically, the Ohio OPN is involved in the following:

Ohio Department of Health, Violence and Injury Prevention Section (VIPS)

Section Chief

Jolene Defiore-Hyrmer

jolene.Dhyrmer@odh.ohio.gov

Program Administrator

Sara Morman

sara.morman@odh.ohio.gov

Ohio Overdose Prevention Network

Chair

Tonya Wagler

waglert@starkhealth.org

Co-chair

Kathy Parrilla

heparril@co.trumbull.oh.us

ODH Liaison

Hilary Requejo

hilary.requejo@odh.ohio.gov

ODH Liaison – Infrastructure

Tina Krempasky

tina.krempasky@odh.ohio.gov

Data Subcommittee

Chair

Tyra Scherer

tscherer@clermontcountyohio.gov

ODH Liaison

Danielle Saunders

danielle.saunders@odh.ohio.gov

Harm Reduction Subcommittee

Chair

Angela Kaiser

akaiser@schd.org

ODH Liaison

TBD

 

Pain Management Subcommittee

Chair

Kylie Jones

kyliej@zmchd.org

ODH Liaison

Hilary Requejo

hilary.requejo@odh.ohio.gov

Policy Subcommittee

Chair

Casey Smith

csmith@phdmc.org

ODH Liaison

Esther Benatar

esther.benatar@odh.ohio.gov

How to Join

To become a member of the OIPP or any of the OIPP action groups, please complete the online membership application.  You will begin to receive meeting notifications and updates about the group's activities.

For more information about the group, please contact the Ohio Department of Health Violence and Injury Prevention Section at 614-466-2144.

What's New?

Save the Date! Ohio OPN's 2020 Conference will be Friday, August 21st at the Quest Conference Center in Columbus, OH. 

2020 Pilot Projects have been awarded to the following agencies. Congratulations! 

  • ADAMHS Board of Cuyahoga County – Will address racial disparities in drug court referrals by hosting three trainings on equity and inclusion best practices and proper referral processes.

  • Equitas Health Medical Center and Pharmacy – Will increase awareness, access and availability of naloxone on The Ohio State University’s campus; with special interest given to racial and ethnic minorities.

  • Family Recovery Center – Will Increase community knowledge of naloxone and increase access to kits available at multiple agencies.

Results from the 2019 Ohio OPN Survey are now available. 

  • See a summary here.
  • See the entire answer set for each question here.

Newsletters

May 2019

August 2019

November 2019