Web Content Viewer
emergency sign in front of hospital


General information about the types of hospitals.
  • Short-term Acute Care Hospitals

  • Children's Hospitals 

  • Critical Access Hospitals

  • Psychiatric Hospitals

  • Rehabilitation Hospitals 

  • Long-term Care Hospitals

Hospitals are institutions primarily engaged in providing, by or under the supervision of physicians, inpatient diagnostic and therapeutic services or rehabilitation services. Hospitals in Ohio are found in many different configurations and/or types. While the majority of hospitals are general, short-term acute care institutions; hospitals may also be psychiatric, rehabilitation, long-term care, children's, hospitals within another hospital, critical access hospitals or specialty hospitals. Hospitals may be accredited by the Joint Commission (JC); Center for Improvement in Healthcare Quality (CIHQ); Det Norske Veritas Healthcare (DNV); or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). Hospitals with accreditation by an accrediting organization that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved for deeming authority are deemed to meet all conditions of participation for Medicare program participation and are not under the jurisdiction of the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) for survey and certification. Non-accredited hospitals, however, are surveyed by ODH. There is no hospital licensure in Ohio; however, hospitals must be registered and must report certain information to the ODH annually in accordance with section 3701.07 of the Ohio Revised Code. When a complaint is filed against an accredited hospital, CMS may direct the ODH to conduct the complaint investigation survey or may refer the complaint to the accrediting organization. Hospitals in Ohio may range from huge, multiple building, campus-based institutions with hundreds of beds to small critical access hospitals that are limited to 25 beds or specialty hospitals where there is no minimum or limit on bed size. Federal standards for Medicare are set at 42 CFR Part 482  (Part 485  for Critical Access Hospitals). CMS directs the standard survey of approximately 1 to 3% of Ohio’s accredited hospitals each year to validate the continued meeting of Medicare standards through accreditation surveys.  The hospitals to be surveyed under the "validation" program are selected by CMS.  Non-accredited hospitals are surveyed at an interval not to exceed five years and to maintain a three-year average for all non-accredited hospitals in the state.

Health Care Provider and Services: To obtain real-time information, generate, print and download reports regarding health care providers that are licensed and/or Medicare/Medicaid certified by the Ohio Department of Health.


Mailing Address:

Ohio Department of Health
Bureau of Regulatory Operations, Hospital Registration
246 N. High Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: (614) 995-7466
Fax: (614) 564-2475

E-mail: community@odh.ohio.gov