Web Content Viewer
Actions
Newborn Safety Incubators
image of infant feet in a basket
Newborn Safety Incubators
Pursuant to Chapter 2151 of the Ohio Revised Code, a parent may voluntarily deliver his or her child who is not older than thirty days, without intent to return for the child, to a newborn safety incubator provided by an authorized entity.

Pursuant to Chapter 2151. of the Ohio Revised Code, a parent may voluntarily deliver his or her child who is not older than thirty days, without intent to return for the child, to a newborn safety incubator provided by one of the following authorized entities:

  • A law enforcement agency
  • A hospital
  • An emergency service organization

For additional information regarding Ohio’s Safe Havens for Newborns, please visit the Ohio Department of Job and Family Service Safe Havens webpage.

How to Become a Registered Location

The following entities are authorized to register a newborn safety incubator location and take possession of a child delivered in accordance with section 2151.3516 of the Revised Code:

  • A law enforcement agency
  • A hospital
  • An emergency service organization

An authorized entity must meet the applicable statutory and regulatory requirements in section 2151.3532 of the Ohio Revised Code and Chapter 3701-86  of the Ohio Administrative Code.  Each authorized entity that has a newborn safety incubator installed at a location shall register with the Ohio Department of Health. Registration shall be valid for a period of three years and must be renewed.  Renewal registrations shall be submitted up to 30 days prior to expiration.

The initial registration or renewal registration shall include:

How to Become a Registered Installer

Only individuals registered with the Ohio Department of Health may install the access portal door and alarm system components of a newborn safety incubator. A list of registered individuals may be found here.

Only the following authorized individuals may register with the Ohio Department of Health:

  • Access portal door installers: County or city licensed general contractor
  • Access portal door alarm system installers: licensed electrical contractor or telecommunications professional

Prior to engaging in the installation of newborn safety incubator access portal door or alarm system, the authorized individual shall register with the Ohio Department of Health. This registration shall include:

  • A completed “Newborn Safety Incubator – Installer” registration form
  • Documentation of occupational license as a general contractor, electrical contractor, or of employment as a telecommunications professional; and
  • A nonrefundable registration fee of $250.00 made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio”

 

Get in touch

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Health
Bureau of Regulatory Operations, Health Care Services
246 North High St.
Columbus, OH 43215

Phone: (614) 466-3325
Fax: (614) 564-2480
E-mail: HCSDATA@odh.ohio.gov