Web Content Viewer
Actions
How to become a NATCEP Trainer

Prospective Applicants to Teach NATCEP

A long-term care facility, employee organization, person, or government entity seeking approval of a TCEP shall submit an initial application to the Ohio Department of Health and shall provide any documentation requested by the director or designee, in accordance with Chapter 3701-18 of the Ohio Administrative Code. The application may be filed at any time.

Attention Service members, Veterans and their spouses:

If you are Active Military, Retired Military, Veteran or spouse of a Veteran, you are eligible to receive priority of service on testing day.  For details regarding what documents are considered acceptable proof for service members or veterans, please click here.

D&S Diversified Technologies has been approved through the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) as an approved testing vendor for the Ohio STNA exam.  Reimbursement of fees paid may be available through your GI Bill, if funds are available.   If you are a Veteran or Active Military, you will be provided with a receipt that you must submit with completed form 22-0803-ARE.pdf and mail to the VA for reimbursement.   You can find additional information about the GI Bill at http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/.

  

Submit the entire application packet and fee (business check or money order only) to:

 

Ohio Department of Health

Revenue Office

NATCEP Unit

P.O. Box 15278

Columbus, Ohio

43215-0278

Other documentation may be requested by the ODH NATCEP Unit. Once complete, the application is reviewed in-depth for compliance with rule 3701-18.  All applications must be received no less than 60 days prior to the next approval period which is the first of all even months.  You will receive written notice of approval or a written proposal to deny approval of your application once the review is completed.

Programs expire two years from the approval date and may be renewed for additional two-year timeframes if programs provide proof of compliance. Applications and renewal fees are due at least 60 days prior to program expiration.

 

FAQs

Why are nurse aide training programs required to teach application of restraints?

Federal law allows the use of restraints when the restraints are used to treat a resident’s medical symptoms (See 42 CFR 483.13, “Resident Behavior and Facility Practices: Restraints”). As long as federal law allows the use of restraints and Ohio nursing homes continue to use them, Ohio will continue to teach proper and safe application.

Can the PC delegate requirements of the NATCEP?

Some. All NATCEP teaching must be presented by approved PCs, PIs or Guest Lecturers (GL). However, data entry and record maintenance may be delegated at the discretion of the PC. The PC is responsible for all aspects of the NATCEP, no matter who assists with the program.