Web Content Viewer
Actions
How to become a State Tested Nurse Aide

Prospective Students

Chapter 3701-18 of the Ohio Administrative Code  for the State of Ohio establishes the requirements for Ohio’s Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program. These requirements mandate all nurse aides working on a regular basis in Ohio’s long term care facilities (LTCF) complete a 75-hour NATCEP and pass a state-administered competency evaluation test. The objective of this requirement is the provision of quality services to residents in LTCFs by aides who are able to:

  1. Form relationships, communicate and interact competently on a one-to-one basis with LTCF residents as part of the team implementing resident care objectives;

  2. Demonstrate sensitivity to the residents’ physical, emotional, social and mental health needs through trained, directed interactions;

  3. Assist residents in attaining and maintaining functional independence;

  4. Exhibit behavior in support and promotion of residents’ rights; and

  5. Demonstrate observation and documentation skills needed in support of the assessment of the long-term care residents’ health, physical condition and well-being.

Programs are provided by nursing homes, schools and private businesses. You can find a licensed STNA program in your county using our online database and instructions.

After successfully completing a NATCEP with an 80% or better average, the student is encouraged to schedule to take the state-administered test. The test consists of two parts, written and skills portions. Both must be passed for the aide to become an STNA and be placed on the Ohio Nurse Aide Registry.

Information on scheduling the state-administered test can be found at D&S Diversified Technologies  http://hdmaster.com/testing/cnatesting/ohio/OH_STNA_Home.htm

 

Background check information?

Individuals are entitled to a refund of up to 100 percent for out-of-pocket expenses paid for completing an Ohio NATCEP. This request can only be made to the very first nursing home that hires an individual as an STNA and must be made within 12 months after training program completion. The refund amount may be prorated based on the time an individual completed his/her training program and when he/she began working for their LTCF. State rules 3701-17-07.1 and 3701-18-08  of the Ohio Administrative Code and Federal regulations 42 CFR 483.152, 42 CFR 483.154 and 42CFR 483.158  require that nursing homes provide this reimbursement if requested.

 

FAQs

Can I sit for the state test without completing a NATCEP? Yes, if you are a current nursing student or have worked as a bedside aide in a hospital, including military facilities, for one full year within the past five years, you may qualify to sit for the test. Contact D&S Diversified Technologies  http://hdmaster.com/testing/cnatesting/ohio/OH_STNA_Home.htm for more information.

Do I need to go through a criminal background check to enroll in a nurse aide training course or take the state test? No. However, the clinical site used by the NATCEP may require background checks on any students providing care for their residents.

Are students required to have a physical and a TB test under Ohio law? If a student is NOT employed by the facility, he or she is not required by law to have a physical, and may not be required to have a TB test if certain conditions are satisfied. Generally, anyone who works or is used by a facility that does not receive or expect to receive compensation for services performed is a volunteer.  A non-employee student who is a volunteer does not need a physical, and may not need a TB test. However, a facility may have a policy requiring all volunteers to have a TB test, physical, or both.

What is the requirement regarding absences of students in training and competency evaluation programs? Absences must be made up within sixty days of the date the student is absent. The student must make up the time on an hour for hour basis to insure that he or she receives the required seventy-five hours of training. If a student is unable to make up the absence with the required sixty days, the program should drop the student from the class and the student should start over again when a new class begins.

If a nurse aide pays for training and testing and is then hired by a long-term care facility, can the nurse aide be reimbursed for the cost of training and testing?

Yes. Up to twelve months after completing training, a nurse aide can request reimbursement for the cost of training and testing. Federal regulations (42 C.F.R. 483.158) allow a facility to request reimbursement for these costs.

What is the requirement regarding absences of students in training and competency evaluation programs?

Absences must be made up within sixty days of the date the student is absent (see paragraph (D) of rule 3701-18-08 of the Ohio Administrative Code). The student must make up the time on an “hour for hour” basis to insure that he or she receives the required seventy-five hours of training (see paragraph (A) of  rule 3701-18-12  of the Ohio Administrative Code). If a student is unable to make up the absence with the required sixty days, the program should drop the student from the class and the student should start over again when a new class begins.

Are students required to have a physical and a TB test under Ohio law?

If a student is NOT employed by the facility, he or she is not required by law to have a physical, and may not be required to have a TB test if certain conditions are satisfied. Generally, anyone who works or is used by a facility that does not receive or expect to receive compensation for services performed (other than reimbursement for expenses) is a “volunteer”. (See paragraph (MM) of rule 3701-17-01  of the Ohio Administrative Code). A volunteer does not have to have a physical and only needs a TB test in certain circumstances. (See paragraphs (D)(2) and (D)(3) of rule 3701-17-07  of the Ohio Administrative Code). Thus, a non-employee student who is a volunteer does not need a physical, and may not need a TB test if the conditions specified in paragraph (D)(3) of rule 3701-17-07 of the Ohio Administrative Code are met. Please note, however, that a facility may have a policy requiring all volunteers to have a TB test, physical, or both. Also note that a student who is employed by the facility (i.e., who does not meet the definition of a volunteer) must comply with the same physical and TB test requirements as other paid personnel.