Web Content Viewer
Ohio Governor's Certified Shortage Areas
Image of a windmill in a cornfield

Ohio Governor’s Certified Shortage Areas
for Purposes of the Rural Health Clinic (RHC) Program

The following counties and areas have been designated as Governor’s Certified Shortage Areas. These areas are considered underserved for purposes of RHC development.

Please note that to establish eligibility for the RHC program, a location must also be rural, defined as U.S. Census Bureau non-urbanized.

County/Service Area Date of Designation
Adams County March 2013
Ashtabula County June 2019
Athens County March 2013
Auglaize County March 2013
Brown County July 2019
Champaign County March 2013
Clermont County (partial county)
Eastern Clermont Service Area – includes Batavia, Franklin, Goshen, Jackson, Monroe, Ohio, Pierce, Stonelick, Tate, Washington, Wayne and Williamsburg Townships
March 2013
Clinton County July 2013
Columbiana County (partial county)
E. Liverpool Service Area – includes Center, East Liverpool, Elkrun, Franklin, Hanover, Liverpool, Madison, Middletown, St. Clair, Unity, Washington, Wayne, Wellsville, Yellow
Creek Townships (see also Jefferson County)
July 2011
Crawford County March 2013
Defiance County December 2014
Erie County February 2013
Fayette County March 2013
Greene County (partial county)
Eastern Greene Service Area - includes Caesarscreek, Cedarville, Jefferson, Miami, New Jasper, Ross, and
Silvercreek Townships
March 2017
Hancock County July 2011
Harrison County March 2013
Henry County November 2011
Hocking County February 2013
Holmes County March 2017
Logan County July 2011
Jefferson County (partial county)
E. Liverpool Service Area – includes Saline Township (see also Columbiana County)
July 2011
Madison County January 2014
Marion County April 2015
Meigs County February 2013
Mercer County July 2011
Monroe County March 2013
Morgan County March 2013
Morrow County March 2013
Ottawa County March 2013
Paulding County March 2013
Pickaway County March 2013
Pike County February 2013
Preble County March 2013
Putnam County March 2013
Richland County March 2013
Ross County July 2013
Sandusky County November 2011
Tuscarawas County February 2013
Union County June 2019
Van Wert County March 2013
Wayne County July 2013
Williams County March 2013
Wood County (partial County)
Southern Wood County Service Area - includes Bloom, Center, Freedom, Grand Rapids, Henry, Jackson, Liberty, Middleton, Milton, Montgomery, Perry, Plain, Portage, Troy, Washington, Webster, and Weston Townships, Fostoria City
and Bowling Green City.
November 2011
Wyandot County September 2017